Monkey Mind – Jumping thoughts

Like a troop of monkeys jumping from branch to branch, a Monkey Mind has thoughts jumping around in the head.

The term Monkey Mind comes from Buddhism and illustrates what we call jumping thoughts or skipping thinking.

This happens especially in times of heavy stress or when one pursues a goal with great perfectionism. Often it is especially difficult to structure and channel the thoughts. One is unable to concentrate, loses focus on the essentials and tires quickly.

From the point of view of the Tibetan constitutional doctrines, a short-term excess of moving wind energy (tib. Lung) in the mind is responsible for this. This does not only refer to the mechanical movement in the body but also the mental activity in the mind. We are colloquially also “moved”. If the normal mental movement becomes too much, then the thoughts jump back and forth. One can easily be distracted and tend to skip actions.

It is not so easy to calm this troop of monkeys in your head. Breathing and meditation techniques can be helpful. Foods, such as bananas or trail mix, are also known to us as so-called brain foods, and have grounding properties due to their sweet taste and can thus calm the troop of monkeys.

Tibetan herbalism and spice lore mainly uses nutmeg in such cases. It is considered one of the most important components in recipes that serve to keep the wind energy of the mind in balance. This also keeps the thoughts calmer and more structured.

PADMA COGNIBEN uses the stabilizing properties of Nutmeg and combines them with the grounding properties of Caraway, the clarifying pungency of Ginger, and a specially prepared, highly usable iron compound that contributes to normal cognitive function.

Monkey Mind – Springende Gedanken

Wie eine Affenbande von Ast zu Ast hüpft, springen beim Monkey Mind die Gedanken im Kopf herum.

Der Begriff Monkey Mind kommt aus dem Buddhismus und verbildlicht das, was wir springende Gedanken oder auch überspringendes Denken nennen.

Dies passiert besonders in Zeiten starker Belastung oder wenn man mit grossem Perfektionismus ein Ziel verfolgt. Oft fällt es gerade dann besonders schwer, die Gedanken zu strukturieren und zu kanalisieren. Man ist unkonzentriert, verliert den Fokus auf das Wesentliche und ermüdet schnell.

Aus Sicht der Tibetischen Konstitutionslehre ist dafür ein kurzzeitiges Übermass an bewegender Wind-Energie (tib. Lung) im Geist verantwortlich. Dabei ist nicht nur die mechanische Bewegung im Körper gemeint sondern auch mental im Geist. Wir sind ja umgangssprachlich auch «bewegt». Wird aus der normalen geistigen Bewegung zu viel, dann springen die Gedanken hin und her. Man lässt sich leicht ablenken und neigt zu Übersprungshandlungen.

Es ist gar nicht so einfach, diese Affenbande im Kopf ruhig zu stellen. Atem- und Meditationstechniken können hilfreich sein. Nahrungsmittel, wie Bananen oder Studentenfutter, sind auch bei uns als sogenannte Brainfoods bekannt, und haben durch den süssen Geschmack erdende Eigenschaften und können so die Affenbande beruhigen.

Die Tibetische Kräuter- und Gewürzkunde nutzt in solchen Fällen vor allem die Muskatnuss. Sie gilt als eine der wichtigsten Komponenten in Rezepturen, die dazu dienen, die Wind-Energie im Geist im Gleichgewicht zu halten. Dadurch bleiben auch die Gedanken ruhiger und strukturierter.

PADMA COGNIBEN nutzt die stabilisierenden Eigenschaften der Muskatnuss und vereint diese mit den erdenden Eigenschaften des Kümmels, der klärenden Schärfe des Ingwers und einer speziell aufbereiteten, gut verwertbaren Eisenverbindung, die zu einer normalen kognitiven Funktion beiträgt.